2023 AFC Asian Cup qualification third round

Qualification for the Asian Cup

Asian Cup qualification is a qualification process organized by the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) to determine the participating teams for the 2023 AFC Asian Cup, the international Asian men’s soccer championship. As of 2019, there are 24 teams participating in the Asia Cup final tournament, a format that was expanded from 2004 to 2015.

The qualification process includes four rounds, where the first two rounds double as World Cup qualification for Asian teams. Only the first round acted as qualifying for the cancelled AFC Solidarity Cup, as six teams are eliminated from the first round of joint World Cup and Asian Cup qualifying games. The four teams eliminated from the playoff round of the Asian Cup qualifying games could qualify.

Asian cup

The Asian Football Confederation has decided to hold a draw for the 2023 Asian Championship qualifier.

The competition will be held from 8 – 14 June.

The final dates for the qualifiers will be announced by the AFC at a later date.

So far, it has been decided that 24 teams will participate in the Asia Cup 2023. In addition, the tournament itself will last 31 days.

China will host the Asia Cup for the second time in history. The first time it was held in this country was in 2004.

The reigning winner of the tournament is Qatar. The most titled Asian team is Japan.

Teams that advanced to the third round of the Asian Cup: Uzbekistan, Jordan, Bahrain, Kyrgyzstan, Palestine, India, Thailand, Tajikistan, the Philippines, Turkmenistan, Kuwait, Afghanistan, Malaysia, Singapore, Mongolia, Hong Kong, Maldives, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Myanmar, Yemen, Bangladesh.

Participating teams in playoffs: Indonesia, Cambodia, Taiwan, Guam

Direct Asian Cup qualifiers: Syria, Australia, Iran, Saudi Arabia, Japan, United Arab Emirates, Republic of Korea, Oman, Iraq, Vietnam, China, Lebanon.

The top two teams in each group qualify for the final tournament.


Teams are ranked according to points (3 points for win, 1 point for draw, 0 points for loss). In case of equal points, tie-breaks shall be applied in the following order:

  • points in head-to-head encounters among tied teams;
  • the difference of goals in head-to-head encounters between tied teams;
  • goals scored in head-to-head meetings between tied teams;
  • away goals scored in head-to-head encounters between tied teams;
  • if more than two teams have an equal number of points, and after applying criteria 1 to 4 a subset of teams is still equal, criteria 1 to 4 are re-applied exclusively to that subset of teams;
  • goal difference in all group matches;
  • goals scored in all group matches;
  • a penalty shootout if only two teams are drawn and they meet in the last round of the group;
  • disciplinary points (yellow card = 1 point, red card resulting from two yellow cards = 3 points, direct red card = 3 points, yellow card followed by a direct red card = 4 points);
  • draw.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *